About us

History of Holy Spirit Church

Holy Spirit Church is an historical landmark located in the center of Fremont. Originally named Holy Ghost Church, it has brought worshipers together for the Sacraments since 1886.

The cornerstone was laid on March 28, 1886 by Bishop Eugene O’Connerll of Grass Valley, assisted by Fr. Montgomery and Fr. Governo. The cost of the building at that time was $12,000. Holy Ghost Church was dedicated on Sunday, October 17, 1886 by Vicar General Fr. John J. Prendergast. Two homilies were preached… one in English by Fr. Prendergast and one in Portuguese by Fr. Governo. The City of Centerville, at the time, were primarily Portuguese, and the area consisted mostly of farms and orchards. Later, the church was renamed Holy Spirit Church and five surrounding districts were combined and named Fremont.

“When you walk through fire…” (Isaiah 43:2)

In 1919, the wooden church burnt to the ground, when a candle fell over that was left burning after a funeral.  Over the next 6 years, parishioners donated monies, hauled sand and gravel from the local quarries, and gave their labors to erect a new stucco church building.  From an aerial view, the building was the shape of a cross.    

Growing in the Spirit…

As the population in Fremont grew, so did the needs of Holy Spirit Church. In 1965, a large extension (the North nave) was built that extended behind the altar area of the old church. The new sanctuary area, in the middle, was redesigned to serve the two naves. A new marble altar was donated and placed in the sanctuary between what is now commonly called the old side and the new side of the Church. Within the walls, close to 1,000 people can be seated.

Features of the Church…

Behind the Altar of Repose is a 15 foot wide mosaic mural of people young and old offering gifts to Christ.  The mosaic was designed and installed by Isabel and Edith Piscek.

The pipe organ was rebuilt about 1960 by Schoenstein & Sons and uses 868 pipes and two manuals.

Located in the South bell tower, is a large bell forged in Portugal.  It survived the 1919 fire and was reinstalled in the new church bell tower.  Located in the North bell tower is a large speaker that tolls the angelus and other electronic and taped music.   The electronic bell system is a Schulmerish Carillon Company installed in 1978.

Where are we?

Get in touch


37588 Fremont Blvd., Fremont, CA 94536


(510) 797-1660

Contact us

Have a question or comment? Let us know and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can!

Our Team

Fr. Ken Sales



Fr. Ken joined Holy Spirit parish on July 1, 2017. “The priest …… has to be the sharer of secrets, the carrier of burdens, the fountain of consolation and the pillar of strength. Solitary, he is called ‘father’ by thousands; poor, he enriches the lives of thousands; unimportant, he does things each day whose importance cannot be told in any tongue on earth … he is never too busy to hear another’s sorrows; often too busy to realize his own burdens.”

Fr. Matthew Murray

Parochial Vicar


Fr. Matthew Murray joined Holy Spirit July 1, 2017. He is the eldest of eleven children and was raised in Antioch, CA. He studied for two years at the University of Dallas before hearing the Lord’s call to become a priest for the Diocese of Oakland. He completed his BA in Philosophy at St. Patrick’s Seminary and University before being sent to study in Rome. After being ordained a priest on May 26, 2017, he was assigned to Holy Spirit. Fr. Matthew enjoys running and hiking, but does not enjoy kale. He is deeply grateful to God to be able to serve the people of Holy Spirit parish. 

Fr. Lee Chompoochan

Parochial Vicar


Fr. Lee joined St. Patrick’s Seminary in Menlo Park in 2003 and was ordained to the preisthood on May 20, 2006.  He served with Fr. Larry Young at St. Patrick parish in Pinole before moving to CCOP in Pleasanton.  Fr. Lee, whose baptism name is Raphael, serves not only God’s people in the Oakland Diocese, but also the Thai Catholics here in California:  from LA to Sacramento. 

Deacon Rigo Cabezas

Director of Faith Formation


Deacon Chuck Glover



Deacon Stephen (Steve) Lewellyn



Deacon Tim Roberto



Deacon Richard Yee

Deacon Emeritus


Holly Marsh

Holy Spirit School Principal


Marvie Joyce Torres

Holy Spirit Preschool Director


Keiru Bakke

Safe Environment Coordinator


Deena Benton

Assistant Director of Faith Formation


Ellen Holloway



Rosalyn Jose

Facilities Scheduling


Sahya Josephine

Parish Secretary


Denise Kashyap

Faith Formation Admin


Frances (Fran) Marron

Faith Formation Admin and KidZone Director


Joseph Nufable

Director of Youth and Young Adult Ministry


Paul Orella

Director of Sacred Music


Mark Stocking



Jeff Van der Sluis

Business Manager


Amy Wilhelm

Faith Formation Admin